16th Federal Congress of the National Urban Development Policy

Bürogemeinschaft Gauly & Volgmann supported the project “Dialogues for Urban Change (D4UC)” in the implementation of two specialist events as part of the 16th Federal Congress on National Urban Development Policy in Jena.

D4UC is implemented by the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH on behalf of the Federal Ministry of Housing, Urban Development and Building (BMWSB) and promotes the mutual exchange of experiences between urban development practitioners in three networks with representatives from the USA, South Africa, Ukraine and Germany.

Arena VI “International Perspectives on Housing for All” was designed as a platform for international discussions on challenges in housing policy and integrated urban development. The focus was on the creation of liveable and integrated urban districts and dealt with the characteristics of the topic of “Housing for All” from the perspective of the USA, Ukraine, Brazil and South Africa in parallel contributions. International experts discussed aspects of affordable housing, marginalized neighbourhoods and homelessness. In the second part, the “Erlenhöfe” housing project in Jena-Ost was visited. The project highlighted aspects of social and modular housing construction and municipal management instruments to promote environmental friendliness and the creation of affordable housing.

The accompanying event “Recalibration, resilience and recovery- IBA as an international model for urban innovation” was aimed at all international congress guests and members of the D4UC network. During a network lunch and the subsequent guided tour of the iconic Eiermannbau – as part of the International Building Exhibition (IBA) Thuringia – experts discussed the applicability of IBA approaches in various contexts, such as integrated urban recovery in Ukraine or urban development initiatives in Africa, North and South America.

Commissioned by: Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH

Period: 2021 – 2025

16. Bundeskongress der Nationalen Stadtentwicklungspolitik

Arena beim16. Bundeskongress der NSP

Die Bürogemeinschaft Gauly & Volgmann unterstützte das Projekt „Dialogues for Urban Change (D4UC)“ bei der Durchführung von zwei Fachveranstaltungen im Rahmen des 16. Bundeskongress zur Nationalen Stadtentwicklungspolitik in Jena.

D4UC wird umgesetzt von der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für Wohnen, Stadtentwicklung und Bauwesen (BMWSB) und fördert den gegenseitigen Austausch von Erfahrungen zwischen Praktiker:innen der Stadtentwicklung in drei Netzwerken mit Vertreter:innen aus den USA, Südafrika, der Ukraine und Deutschland.

Die Arena VI „Internationale Perspektiven zu Housing for All“ wurde als Plattform für internationale Diskussionen zu Herausforderungen in der Wohnungspolitik und integrierter Stadtentwicklung konzipiert. Der Fokus lag auf der Schaffung lebenswerter und integrierter Stadtviertel und befasste sich in parallelen Beiträge mit den Ausprägungen des Themas „Housing for All“ aus Sicht der USA, der Ukraine, Brasilien und Südafrika. Internationale Fachexpert:innen diskutieren Aspekte des bezahlbaren Wohnraums, marginalisierter Stadtviertel und Obdachlosigkeit. Im zweiten Teil wurde das Wohnprojekt „Erlenhöfe“ in Jena-Ost besucht. Das Projekt verdeutlichte Aspekte des sozialen und modularen Wohnungsbaus und Steuerungsinstrumente der Kommune, um Umweltfreundlichkeit und Schaffung bezahlbaren Wohnraums zu fördern.

Die Begleitveranstaltung „Recalibration, resilience and recovery- IBA as an international model for urban innovation“ richtete sich an alle internationalen Kongressgäste sowie Mitglieder des D4UC-Netzwerks. Bei einem Netzwerklunch und der anschließenden Führung durch den ikonischen Eiermannbau – als Teil der Internationalen Bauausstellung (IBA) Thüringen – debattierten Fachexpert:innen über die Anwendbarkeit von IBA-Ansätzen in verschiedenen Kontexten, wie der integrierten städtischen Erholung in der Ukraine oder städtebaulichen Initiativen in Afrika, Nord- und Südamerika.

Auftraggeber: Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH
Zeitraum: 2021 – 2025