Potential study: seconding integrated experts to municipal partnerships in the context of flight and migration – opportunities and approaches

The Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH has a project to strengthen the cooperation of municipalities: Jointly with GIZ, the Centre for International Migration and Development (CIM) in cooperation with the Service Agency for Communities in the one world (SKEW) implements the program “Integrated Experts for Municipalities worldwide (IFKW)” that brings together German and European experts with cities of the Global South.

Against the background of global migration and refugee seeking shelter around troubled regions in the Middle East and Africa, Bürogemeinschaft Gauly & Volgmann was commissioned to research the central issue: How can the secondment of integrated experts to partner cities affected by flight and migration contribute to cope better with these challenges and to use potentials?

Commissioned by: Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH
Period: 2016

Parkbogen Ost

The Parkbogen Ost is a visionary idea: A roughly 5 km long band with walking paths and cycling lanes and active areas surrounding the east of Leipzig. Due to the construction of the underground tunnel Leipzig City Tunnel, a section of the eastern railway arch was closed by the railway company Deutsche Bahn in December 2012. This eastern railway section is to form the centerpiece of the green area. This park will allow heterogeneous quarters to be connected to workplaces, green areas and architectural heritages.

The idea was brought forward by citizens of Leipzig, who came together to create the”Initiative Parkbogen Ost” and generated overwhelmingly positive response. The city administration has recognized the potential of the Parkbogen Ost at an early stage and is working since on its gradual implementation. In 2013, Bürogemeinschaft Gauly & Volgmann supported the Office of Urban Renewal and Residential Construction Subsidies in the development and coordination of work structures as well as in planning the strategic approach.

In 2016, Bürogemeinschaft Gauly & Volgmann supported the Office of Urban Renewal and Residential Construction Subsidies again in this project. bgh.worked in close cooperation with the city administration and the UrbanPlan GmbH, epUrban and LESG GmbH in the design and development of the masterplan of Parkbogen Ost. An important part of the project was the organization of citizen workshops, where the citizens of Leipzig were invited to get involved in the development process of the master plan.

Commissioned by: City of Leipzig, Office of Urban Renewal and Residential Construction Subsidies (ASW)
Cooperation partners: UrbanPlan GmbH, epUrban, LESG GmbH (in different constellations)
Period: 2013-2014 and 2016

Balance sheet and strategy paper for a climate-friendly sustainable urban development in Leipzig

In 2011, the City of Leipzig set itself the goal of developing a balance and strategy paper on  climate-friendly sustainable urban development in Leipzig. As part of the project, bgh. supported the cross-departmental communication process. One of the main tasks was to  prepare and facilitate different workshops. In cooperation with the involved actors and our partner, the agency Miriquidi Media, the concept idea was created and edited.

The balance and strategy paper formed the basis for the publication „Stadtentwicklung koopstadt. Klimagerechte und nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung Leipzig“ published in 2012 as part of the pilot project of the National Urban Development Policy of the Federal Institute for Building, Urban and Spatial Research (BBSR) „koopstadt – Stadtentwicklung in Bremen, Leipzig und Nürnberg“.

In terms of content, the balance and strategy paper deals with the following main topics:

  • Climate protection
  • City of mixed uses and short distances
  • Leipzig Charter as a plan for action
  • Milestones for climate policy in Leipzig
  • Priority areas of action: Settlement development, mobility, open space development, municipal infrastructure, communication and consulting, experiences of co-operative partner cities Bremen and Nuremberg.

Commissioned by: City of Leipzig, City Planning Department
Cooperation partner: Agency Miriquidi Media
Period: 2011-2012

SWOT analysis for Halle 14 at the Baumwollspinnerei [Leipzig]

As part of the EU program ”SECOND CHANCE. From industrial use to creative impulses” the Halle 14 e.V. became a partner to 8 other actors from 5 European cities. In the frame if this project, the potential revitalization of former industrial buildings or areas by means of art and culture was examined. To ensure sustainable and long-term conversion, a SWOT analysis was carried out for each location.

For the analysis of Halle 14 at the Baumwollspinnerei, extensive data research as well as semi-structured interviews with selected experts from the cultural sector,  non-profit organizations and various networks were conducted. The main topics were:

  • Examination of the art space and the current usage of it
  • Classification in the overall urban context with a focus on the cultural and creative environment
  • Comparison of the strengths and weaknesses of the location and analysis of its current usage concept
  • Identification of opportunities and risks of the further development of Halle 14 within the urban cultural environment as well as the cultural and creative industries

Commissioned by: Halle 14 e.V.
Cooperation partner: urban management systems (u.m.s.) GmbH
Period: 2010

Study on the status of municipal land use planning in Serbia

As part of the GIZ project “Strengthening Municipal Land Management in Serbia”, bgh. was in charge of an on-site mission to study the state of local land-use planning in August 2010. Overall, this project aimed to strengthen the competences of the Serbian municipalities in terms of achieving an ecologically sustainable and socially balanced development, and also of improving the efficient land use management.

In the three Serbian project cities Kragujevac, Smederevo and Novi Sad, the status of municipal land use planning were analysed. Thus, the study evaluated the current building and planning law in Serbia and provided recommendations for the further development of municipal land use planning in the country.

Commissioned by: Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH
Cooperation partners: Department of Strategic Planning and Development, Urban Planning Institute of Belgrade, Serbian experts
Period: 2010

Country-based studies for a sustainable reactivation of industrial and commercial land plots [Azerbaijan & Romania]

Commissioned by the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Technische Zusammenarbeit (gtz) GmbH, bgh. carried out two country studies in Azerbaijan and Romania, in cooperation with sc urbacon srl. The study aimed at assessing the potential for conversion of former industrial areas in both countries.

Thematic priorities:

  • Analysis of the specific situation of the conversion
  • Identifying possible measures for sustainable reactivation of highly contaminated industrial and commercial brownfields

Commissioned by: Deutsche Gesellschaft für Technische Zusammenarbeit (gtz) GmbH
Cooperation partner: sc urbacon srl
Period: 2010

Feasibility study on the transferability of the Leipzig´s self-user model to other municipalities

bhg., in the person of Astrid Heck, cooperated with the Selbstnutzer Kompetenzzentrum für Wohneigentum GmbH on conducting a feasibility study on the transferability of the Leipzig “self-user model” to other municipalities. It implied the training of owners of heritage-listed buildings and townhouses in the inner city.

An intensive consultation and moderation for groups that have the same interest – jointly acquiring ownership of a flat/house – is especially necessary at the initial stages when the group members do not know each other. In order to be able to better assess the transferability of the model to other municipalities, further investigations were carried out as part of the National Urban Development Policy program.

In a nationwide study, a survey of 570 municipalities was carried out. The study examined the need to train the owners in the different municipalities and the financial support they would need. A final two-day workshop was held for about 60 representatives from different cities. The municipalities were interested in learning from the self-user model in Leipzig and contributed to the formulation of recommendations for action towards the Federal Government on the promotion of housing ownership.

Commissioned by: The Federal Office for Building and Regional Planning / Selbstnutzer Kompetenzzentrum für Wohneigentum GmbH
Period: 2008-2009

Concept study Coopstadt [Leipzig]

The project “koopstadt – Stadtentwicklung Bremen Leipzig Nürnberg”Coopstadt – urban development Bremen, Leipzig, Nuremberg” is based on the cooperation between three cities, Leipzig, Bremen and Nuremberg. They came together to elaborate innovative solutions for topics of urban development between 2008 and 2015 and to implement concrete projects during this period of time. Economic innovation and creative milieus, quality of urban life and regional cooperation were of special importance.

The project was funded by the “National Urban Development Policy”  of the Federal Ministry of Transport, Building and Urban Development (BMVBS). Until the end of 2008, a concept study with key projects, that required specific funding, was being development. bgh. worked with his two cooperation partners to realize the city-specific service package. Thematic priorities:

  • Processing or concretization of key projects
  • Participation in multi-city services
  • Development of an organizational structure
  • Documentation and presentation

Commissioned by: City of Leipzig, city planning office
Cooperation partners: urban management systems (u.m.s.) GmbH and UrbanPlan GmbH
Period: 2008

HausHalten e.V. [Leipzig]

The main goals of the association HausHalten e.V., founded in 2004, are to secure endangered old buildings in important urban areas by finding new users on a non-commercial basis and to preserve the buildings’ value. Astrid Heck was a co-initiator and long-time board member of the association. The aim of HausHalten e.V. is to engage with the two challenges Leipzig faced in the early 2000s – vacancy in unattractive areas and creative people seeking adequate spaces. HausHalten e.V. viewed this as an opportunity to bring potential users closer to owners.

Until September 2009, HausHalten e.V. received funding through the “Nationalen Stadtentwicklungspolitik” National Urban Development Policy by the Federal Ministry of Transport, Building and Urban Development (BMVBS).

Main goals:

  • Establishment of a training and competence centre “HausHalten” in Lützner Straße 39
  • Further development of the Guardian House Model – Wächterhausmodell
  • Transferability of the model to other cities which also face vacancy

Function: Co-initiator and long-time member of the board of the association
Period: 2004-2009

Cities’ Network South Caucasus [Caucasus, Germany]

The Cities’ Network South Caucasus is part of the Caucasus Initiative of the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ). The Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH support the partnership between Caucasian cities and German cities:

  • Sumgayit (Azerbaijan) – Ludwigshafen / Rhine
  • Telavi (Georgia) – Biberach / Riss
  • Tbilisi (Georgia) – Saarbrücken
  • Batumi (Georgia) – Rostock
  • Vanadzor (Armenia) – Rain County

The project is based on the idea of ​​combining municipal know-how and existing partnerships with policy development goals. The cooperation includes advisory measures in the areas of administrative reform, youth and social affairs, environmental protection, education, waste management, water supply and sanitation. bgh. supports the Cities’ Network South Caucasus  since 2003 on the following topics:

  • Strategy development and moderation
  • Promoting networking and support for knowledge transfer in local governance
  • Advising the local administrations during the design process and implementation of join projects and small-scale actions
  • Coordination and layout of a newsletter to inform about project progress

Commissioned by: Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH
Period: 2003-2015

Potentialstudie: Vermittlung integrierter Fachkräfte in kommunale Partnerschaften im Kontext von Flucht und Migration – Chancen und Ansätze

Die deutsche Entwicklungszusammenarbeit verfügt über ein Vorhaben, um die Zusammenarbeit von Kommunen in kommunalen Partnerschaften gezielt zu stärken: Mit dem Programm „Integrierte Fachkräfte für Kommunen weltweit (IFKW)“ vermittelt das Centrum für internationale Migration und Entwicklung (CIM) in Kooperation mit der Servicestelle Kommunen in der einen Welt (SKEW) deutsche und europäische Fachkräfte in Partnerschaften mit Kommunen des Globalen Südens. Damit können Kommunen das Instrument der integrierten Fachkräfte für die Weiterentwicklung ihrer bereits bestehenden Partnerschaften nutzen.

Vor dem Hintergrund globaler Migration sowie Flüchtlingssituationen um Krisenherde im Nahen Osten und Afrika erstellte bgh. im Auftrag von IFKW eine Studie, die sich mit der zentralen Fragestellung beschäftigt:

Wie kann durch die Vermittlung von integrierten Fachkräften in kommunale Partnerschaften ein Beitrag geleistet werden, um von Flucht und Migration betroffene Kommunen in den Partnerländern der deutschen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit gezielt darin zu unterstützen, die Herausforderungen von Migration und Flucht besser zu bewältigen und Potentiale besser nutzen zu können?

Auftraggeber: Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH
Zeitraum: 2016

Parkbogen Ost [Leipzig]

Der Parkbogen Ost ist eine visionäre Idee, hinter deren Namen sich ein ca. 5 km langes Band mit Fuß- und Radwegen sowie Aktivflächen verbirgt, das den Leipziger Osten bogenförmig  umschließt. Aufgrund des Neubaus des Leipziger City-Tunnels und der daraus resultierenden Streckennetzanpassung wurde ein Abschnitt des östlichen Bahnbogens von der Deutschen Bahn im Dezember 2012 stillgelegt. Dieser östliche Bahnbogen soll das Kernstück des grünen Bandes bilden. Durch die strukturgebende Wegeverbindung können nicht nur die heterogenen Quartiere im Leipziger Osten, sondern auch Arbeitsplatzstätten, Grünanlagen und besondere Baudenkmäler entlang der Strecke zueinander in Beziehung gesetzt werden.

Die Idee wurde von Leipziger Bürgern, die sich in der „Initiative Parkbogen Ost“ zusammenfanden, bekannt gemacht und erzeugte große positive Resonanz. Die Stadtverwaltung hat das Potential der Vision Parkbogen Ost frühzeitig erkannt und arbeitet an der schrittweisen Umsetzung des Vorhabens. bgh. unterstützte im Jahr 2013 das Amt für Stadterneuerung und Wohnungsbauförderung bei dem Aufbau und der Koordination von Arbeitsstrukturen sowie bei der Planung der strategischen Vorgehensweise.

Im Jahr 2016 unterstützte bgh. das Amt für Stadterneuerung und Wohnungsbauförderung abermals im Rahmen des Parkbogen Ost. Dabei war bgh. in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Auftraggeber und den Büros UrbanPlan GmbH, epUrban und LESG GmbH in der Erarbeitung des Masterplans Parkbogen Ost und dessen Gestaltung tätig. Einen wichtigen Bestandteil bildeten die Bürgerwerkstätten, bei denen die Leipziger Bürger eingeladen wurden, sich in den Entstehungsprozess des Masterplans einzubringen.

Auftraggeber: Stadt Leipzig, Amt für Stadterneuerung und Wohnungsbauförderung (ASW)
Kooperationspartner: UrbanPlan GmbH, epUrban, LESG GmbH (in unterschiedlichen Konstellationen)
Zeitraum: 2013-2014 und 2016

Bilanz- und Strategiepapier Klimagerechte nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung Leipzig

Die Stadt Leipzig setzte sich im Jahr 2011 das Ziel, ein Bilanz- und Strategiepapier für das Themenfeld Klimagerechte nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung für Leipzig zu erarbeiten. bgh. unterstützte im Rahmen dieses Erarbeitungsprozesses den ämterübergreifenden Kommunikationsprozess, wobei beispielsweise die Vorbereitung und Moderation von Fachworkshops  ein wichtiges Tätigkeitsfeld war. In Zusammenarbeit mit den beteiligten Akteuren und dem Kooperationspartner, der Agentur Miriquidi Media, wurde das Ideenkonzept erstellt und redaktionell aufbereitet. 

Das Bilanz- und Strategiepapier bildete die Grundlage für die 2012 im Rahmen des Pilotprojektes der Nationalen Stadtentwicklungspolitik des Bundesinstituts für Bau-, Stadt- und Raumforschung (BBSR) „koopstadt – Stadtentwicklung in Bremen, Leipzig und Nürnberg“ veröffentlichte Publikation „Stadtentwicklung koopstadt. Klimagerechte und nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung Leipzig“.

Inhaltlich setzt sich das Bilanz- und Strategiepapier mit folgenden Hauptthemen auseinander:

  • Klimaschutz
  • Nutzungsgemischte Stadt der kurzen Wege
  • Leipzig Charta als Handlungsgrundlage
  • Meilensteine für die Klimapolitik in Leipzig
  • Bisherige Handlungsschwerpunkte: Siedlungsentwicklung, Mobilität, Freiraumentwicklung, Kommunale Infrastruktur, Kommunikation und Beratung, Erfahrungen der koop-Partnerstädte Bremen und Nürnberg

Auftraggeber: Stadt Leipzig, Stadtplanungsamt
Kooperationspartner: Agentur Miriquidi Media
Zeitraum: 2011-2012

SWOT-Analyse für die Halle 14 in der Baumwollspinnerei [Leipzig]

Im Rahmen des EU-Programms „SECOND CHANCE. From industrial Use to creative Impulse“ ist der Halle 14 e.V. mit 8 weiteren Akteuren aus 5 europäischen Städten als Partner vertreten. Thematischer Schwerpunkt des Projektes ist die inhaltliche Auseinandersetzung mit der Revitalisierung ehemaliger Industriegebäude bzw. -gelände mittels Kunst und Kultur. Zur nachhaltigen und langfristigen Umnutzung wird für jeden Standort eine SWOT-Analyse durchgeführt.

Für die Halle 14 in der Leipziger Baumwollspinnerei wurden umfangreiche Datenrecherchen und 8 semistrukturierte und leitfadengestützte Interviews mit ausgewählten Experten der Bereiche öffentlicher Kultursektor, intermediärer Sektor und Netzwerke durchgeführt. Inhaltliche Schwerpunkte waren:

  • Überprüfung des Profils des Kunstraumes und die derzeitige Nutzungskonzeption
  • Einordnung in den gesamtstädtischen Kontext mit Fokus auf Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft
  • Gegenüberstellung der Stärken und Schwächen des Standortes und seines derzeitigen Nutzungskonzeptes
  • Erarbeitung von Chancen und Risiken der weiteren Entwicklung der Halle 14 innerhalb der städtischen Kulturlandschaft sowie der Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft

Auftraggeber: Halle 14 e.V.
Kooperationspartner: urban management systems (u.m.s.) GmbH
Zeitraum: 2010

Studie zum Stand der kommunalen Landnutzungsplanung [Serbien]

Im Rahmen des GIZ-Vorhabens „Stärkung des kommunalen Landmanagements in Serbien“ wurde eine Vor-Ort-Mission zur Untersuchung des Standes der kommunalen Landnutzungsplanung im August 2010 durchgeführt, wobei bgh. federführend tätig war. Das GIZ-Vorhaben zielte insgesamt ab, die Kompetenzen der serbischen Kommunen für eine ökologisch nachhaltige, sozial ausgleichende und effiziente Steuerung der Landnutzung zu stärken. Die Erkenntnisse der Vor-Ort-Mission sollen einen Beitrag zur Erreichung des Gesamtziels leisten.

Anhand der drei serbischen Projektstädte Kragujevac, Smederevo und Novi Sad wurde der Stand der der kommunalen Landnutzungsplanung analysiert. So wurde in der Studie das aktuelle Bau- und Planungsrechts in Serbien analysiert, der Vollzug des serbischen Bau- und Planungsrechts in 3 Projektstädten beschrieben und Empfehlungen zur Weiterentwicklung der kommunalen Landnutzungsplanung gegeben.

Auftraggeber: Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH
Kooperationspartner: Department for Strategic Planning and Development, Urban Planning Institute of Belgrade, Serbische Fachexperten
Zeitraum: 2010

Länderstudien zur nachhaltigen Reaktivierung von Industrie- und Gewerbebrachen [Aserbaidschan & Rumänien]

Beauftragt durch die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Technische Zusammenarbeit (gtz) GmbH führte bgh. in Kooperation mit dem Büro sc urbacon srl zwei Länderstudien durch. So galt es, für die Länder Aserbaidschan und Rumänien jeweils eine „Studie zur nachhaltigen Reaktivierung von Industrie- und Gewerbebrachen“ anzufertigen. Ziel war die Einschätzung der Potentiale zur Entwicklung und Umsetzung von Vorhaben zur Reaktivierung von ehemaligen Industriegebieten in beiden Ländern.

Thematische Schwerpunkte:

  • Analyse der spezifischen Situation der Konversion
  • Demonstration möglicher Maßnahmen zur nachhaltigen Reaktivierung von Industrie- und Gewerbebrachen mit hoher Altlastkonzentration

Auftraggeber: Deutsche Gesellschaft für Technische Zusammenarbeit (gtz) GmbH
Kooperationspartner: sc urbacon srl
Zeitraum: 2010

Machbarkeitsstudie zur Übertragbarkeit des Leipziger Selbstnutzermodells auf andere Kommunen

bgh., in persona Astrid Heck, erarbeitete in Arbeitsgemeinschaft mit dem Selbstnutzer Kompetenzzentrum für Wohneigentum GmbH eine Machbarkeitsstudie zur Übertragbarkeit des Leipziger Selbstnutzermodells auf andere Kommunen, d.h. die Stärkung der Eigentumsbildung in denkmalgeschützten Altbauten und Stadthäusern in der inneren Stadt.

Eine intensive Beratung und Moderation der Gruppen, die sich aufgrund ähnlicher Interessen für ein bestimmtes Objekt entscheiden, ohne sich vorher zu kennen, ist notwendig. Um die Übertragbarkeit des Modells auf andere Kommunen besser einschätzen zu können, erfolgten im Rahmen des Programms „Nationale Stadtentwicklungspolitik“ weitergehende Untersuchungen.

In einer bundesweiten Studie wurde anhand einer schriftlichen und vertiefenden telefonischen Befragung von 570 Kommunen untersucht, unter welchen Bedingungen sich das Leipziger Selbstnutzermodell übertragen ließe, welcher Bedarf in den jeweiligen Kommunen an Eigentumsbildung besteht und welche finanzielle Unterstützung benötigt würde. Abschließend fand ein zweitägiger Workshop statt, an dem etwa 60 Vertreter von Kommunen teilnahmen. Sie waren an einer Übernahme des Leipziger Selbstnutzermodells interessiert bzw. wirkten an der Formulierung von Handlungsempfehlungen gegenüber dem Bund zur verstärkten Förderung der Eigentumsbildung mit.

Auftraggeber: Bundesamt für Bauwesen und Raumordnung / Selbstnutzer Kompetenzzentrum für Wohneigentum GmbH 
Zeitraum: 2008-2009

Konzeptstudie „koopstadt“ [Leipzig]

Das Projekt „koopstadt – Stadtentwicklung Bremen, Leipzig, Nürnberg“ basiert auf einer Kooperation der drei Städte Leipzig, Bremen und Nürnberg. Sie haben sich zusammengeschlossen, um zwischen 2008 und 2015 gemeinsam zukunftsweisende und neuartige Lösungsansätze für die relevanten Themen der Stadtentwicklung hervorzubringen und konkrete Projekte umzusetzen. Dabei spielen die Themenfelder „Ökonomische Innovation und kreative Milieus“, „urbane Lebensqualität“ sowie „regionale Kooperation und lokale Verantwortungsgemeinschaften“ eine wichtige Rolle.

Das Projekt wurde durch das Programm der „Nationalen Stadtentwicklungspolitik“ vom Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Bau und Stadtentwicklung (BMVBS) gefördert. Bis Ende 2008 wurde eine Konzeptstudie mit Schlüsselprojekten erarbeitet, die insbesondere die Einwerbung zusätzlicher Finanzmittel unterstützen sollte. bgh. arbeitete mit den beiden Kooperationspartnern zusammen, um das stadtspezifische Leistungspaket zu realisieren. Thematische Schwerpunkte:

  • Vertiefung bzw. Konkretisierung der Schlüsselprojekte
  • Mitwirkung an städteübergreifenden Leistungen
  • Entwicklung einer Organisationsstruktur
  • Dokumentation und Präsentation

Auftraggeber: Stadt Leipzig, Stadtplanungsamt
Kooperationspartner: urban management systems (u.m.s.) GmbH und UrbanPlan GmbH
Zeitraum: 2008

HausHalten e.V. [Leipzig]

Hauptziel des im Jahr 2004 gegründeten Vereins HausHalten e.V. ist es, gefährdete Altbauten an städtebaulich bedeutsamen Lagen durch die Akquisition neuer Nutzer auf nicht kommerzieller Basis zu sichern und ihren Wert zu erhalten. Astrid Heck (†2009) war Mitinitiatorin und langjähriges Vorstandsmitglied des Vereins.

Ziel von HausHalten e.V. ist es, die beiden Herausforderungen zu Beginn der 2000er Jahre – Leerstand in unattraktiven Lagen und kreative Raumsuchende – als Chance zu betrachten und Eigentümer mit potentiellen Nutzern zusammenzuführen.

Bis September 2009 erhielt HausHalten e.V. eine Förderung im Rahmen der Nationalen Stadtentwicklungspolitik durch das Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Bau und Stadtentwicklung (BMVBS). Wichtigste Ziele:

  • Aufbau eines Bildungs- und Kompetenzzentrums „HausHalten“ in der Lützner Straße 39
  • Weiterentwicklung des Wächterhausmodells
  • Übertragbarkeit des Modells auf weitere Städte, die ebenfalls mit Leerstand zu kämpfen haben
  • Begleitende Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit

Funktion: Mitinitiatorin und langjähriges Vorstandsmitglied des Vereins
Zeitraum: 2004-2009

Städtenetz Kaukasus [Kaukasus, Deutschland]

Das Städtenetz Kaukasus ist Teil der Kaukasus-Initiative des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ). Fachlich durch die GIZ (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit GmbH) unterstützt, wird das Städtenetz Kaukasus von folgenden Städte- und Projektpartnerschaften getragen:

  • Sumgayit (Aserbaidschan) – Ludwigshafen | Rhein
  • Telawi (Georgien) – Biberach | Riss
  • Tbilissi (Georgien) – Saarbrücken
  • Batumi (Georgien) – Rostock
  • Vanadzor (Armenien) – Landkreis Regen

Das Projekt basiert auf der Idee, deutsches kommunales Know-how und bestehende Partnerschaften mit entwicklungspolitischen Zielen zu verbinden. Schwerpunkte der Zusammenarbeit sind Beratungsmaßnahmen in den Themenfeldern Verwaltungsreform, Jugend & Soziales, Umweltentwicklung und -erziehung, Abfallwirtschaft sowie Wasserver- und -entsorgung. bgh. unterstützt das Städtenetz Kaukasus seit 2003 bei den Themen:

  • Strategieentwicklung und Moderation der Veranstaltungen zur Projektplanung und –fortschreibung
  • Förderung der Netzwerkarbeit und Unterstützung beim Wissenstransfer im Bereich der Kommunalentwicklung
  • Beratung der beteiligten lokalen Verwaltungen bei der Konzeption und Umsetzung von gemeinsam erfassten Projekten und Kleinmaßnahmen
  • Koordination und Layout eines Newsletters zur Information über die Projektaktivitäten

Auftraggeber: Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH
Zeitraum: Fortlaufend seit 2003