First meeting of the German-Ukrainian Peer-to-Peer Learning Network on integrated urban development

Bürogemeinschaft Gauly & Volgmann supported the “Dialogues for Urban Change (D4UC)” project in implementing its Ukrainian – German Peer-to-Peer Learning Network for Integrated Urban Development. The first network meeting took place in Leipzig.

D4UC, implemented by Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH and commissioned the German Federal Ministry for housing, urban development, and building (BMWSB), aligns with visions for sustainable cities included in the New Urban Agenda, the UN’s Sustainable Development Goal 11, the New Leipzig Charter, and the German National Urban Development Policy. The project works with cities, ministries and municipal associations from the USA, South Africa, Ukraine, and Germany. It promotes mutual learning among urban development practitioners through three city networks.

The initial meeting of the Ukrainian-German Peer-to-Peer Learning Network took in Leipzig, followed by participation in the 16th Federal Congress on National Urban Development Policy in Jena. In the context of the challenges posed by Russia’s war of aggression against Ukraine, the network is focusing on supporting Ukrainian colleagues in a collegial and trustworthy manner in navigating the transformative reconstruction of Ukrainian cities. The main aim is to improve municipal governance in both Ukrainian and German cities and emphasizing innovative approaches to urban development for integrated cities and neighbourhoods. The network is aiming at practical solutions, especially regarding issues intensified by the ongoing war, such as accommodating internally displaced people and rebuilding damaged infrastructure.

Commissioned by: Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH

Period: 2021-2025

Erstes Treffen des Deutsch-Ukrainischen Peer-to-Peer-Learning-Netzwerks für integrierte Stadtentwicklung

Die Bürogemeinschaft Gauly & Volgmann unterstützt das Projekt „Dialogues for Urban Change (D4UC)“ bei der Durchführung des deutsch-ukrainischen Peer-to-Peer-Learning-Netzwerks für integrierte Stadtentwicklung. Das erste Netzwerktreffen fand im September 2023 in Leipzig statt.

D4UC, umgesetzt von der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für Wohnen, Stadtentwicklung und Bauwesen (BMWSB), steht im Einklang mit den Visionen für nachhaltige Städte, die in der Neuen Urbanen Agenda, dem UN-Ziel für nachhaltige Entwicklung 11, der Neuen Leipziger Charta und der deutschen Nationalen Stadtentwicklungspolitik enthalten sind. Das Projekt arbeitet mit Städten, Ministerien und kommunalen Verbänden aus den USA, Südafrika, der Ukraine und Deutschland zusammen. Es fördert den gegenseitigen Austausch von Erfahrungen zwischen Praktiker:innen der Stadtentwicklung in drei Netzwerken.

Das erste Treffen des deutsch-ukrainischen Peer-to-Peer-Learning-Netzwerks fand in Leipzig statt, gefolgt von der Teilnahme am 16. Bundeskongress zur Nationalen Stadtentwicklungspolitik in Jena. Im Kontext des russischen Angriffskriegs gegen die Ukraine legt das Netzwerk den Schwerpunkt darauf, ukrainische Kolleg:innen kollegial und vertrauenswürdig beim Wiederaufbau und der Transformation ukrainischer Städte zu unterstützen. Das Hauptziel besteht darin, innovative Ansätze für die integrierte  Stadtentwicklung zu teilen, auszuarbeiten und anzuwenden. Das Netzwerk konzentriert sich auf praktische Lösungen, insbesondere in Bezug auf durch den laufenden Krieg verschärfte Probleme, wie die Unterbringung von intern Vertriebenen und den Wiederaufbau beschädigter Infrastruktur.

 

Auftraggeber: Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH
Zeitraum: 2021 – 2025