London School of Economics Students Field Trip to Leipzig

Between the 2nd and 4th of April, Bürogemeinschaft Gauly & Volgmann organized a study trip to Leipzig for a group of students from the Master’s programs in Regional and Urban Planning Studies and Local Economic Development at the London School of Economics and Political Science. The diverse and international group of students visited Leipzig to enhance their knowledge in integrated urban development in Germany, focusing on implementation tools such as Neighbourhood Management and addressing common urban challenges like fostering economic development, providing affordable housing, and developing a more sustainable transportation system.

The students had the opportunity to learn and discuss these topics with City Hall representatives and local experts. Notable experts included Dr. Beate Ginzel, Head of the Digital City Unit of the City of Leipzig, Stefan Heinig (former Acting Head of the Urban Planning Department of Leipzig), and Dr. Oliver Koczy, Head of Housing Policy in the Department for Housing and Urban Renewal.

Additionally, Bürogemeinschaft Gauly & Volgmann organized walking tours of Leipzig’s city centre to explore the renovation process that began in the early 90s, a housing tour to examine the various approaches and models Leipzig has used to provide affordable housing, and a walk focusing on neighbourhood development and participation in planning processes.

Organized (free of charge) in cooperation with the London School of Economics and Political Science

Timeframe: April 2024

London School of Economics – Studienreise nach Leipzig

Vom 02. bis 04. April organisierte die Bürogemeinschaft Gauly & Volgmann eine Studienreise nach Leipzig für eine Gruppe von Studierenden der Masterstudiengänge Regional and Urban Planning Studies und Local Economic Development an der London School of Economics and Political Science. Die internationale Gruppe von Studierenden besuchte Leipzig, um ihr Wissen über integrierte Stadtentwicklung in Deutschland zu vertiefen. Der Schwerpunkt lag dabei auf Umsetzungsinstrumenten wie dem Quartiersmanagement und der Bewältigung allgemeiner städtischer Herausforderungen wie lokaler Wirtschaftsförderung, der Schaffung von bezahlbarem Wohnraum und der Entwicklung eines nachhaltigeren Verkehrssystems.

Die Studierenden hatten die Möglichkeit, diese Themen mit Vertreter:innen der Stadtverwaltung und lokalen Expert:innen zu diskutieren. Zu den Fachreferent:innen und Diskussionspartner:innen gehörten Dr. Beate Ginzel, Leiterin des Referats Digitale Stadt der Stadt Leipzig, Stefan Heinig (ehemaliger amtierender Leiter des Stadtplanungsamtes Leipzig) und Dr. Oliver Koczy, Amt für Wohnungsbau und Stadterneuerung.

Darüber hinaus organisierte die Bürogemeinschaft Gauly & Volgmann Rundgänge durch die Leipziger Innenstadt, um den Anfang der 90er Jahre begonnenen Sanierungsprozess darzustellen, einen Rundgang rund ums Thema Wohnen, bei dem die verschiedenen Ansätze und Modelle für bezahlbaren Wohnraum in Leipzig verdeutlicht wurden, sowie einen Rundgang mit dem Schwerpunkt Quartiersentwicklung und Beteiligung an Planungsprozessen.

Organisiert (ehrenamtlich) in Zusammenarbeit mit der London School of Economics and Political Science

Zeitraum: April 2024