Ukrainian-German Cities Network [Ukraine & Germany]

The Ukrainian – German Cities Network was established on the initiative of the Ukrainian Ministry of Regional Development, Construction, Housing and Municipal Services (MinReg) and the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety (BMUB) at the end of 2017. Following the federal elections in Germany and the subsequent reassignment of departments, the network has been under the responsibility of the Federal Ministry of the Interior, for Building and Home Affairs (BMI) since 2018. In addition to the two ministries, partners in the cities network are the four Ukrainian cities of Kyiv, Mykolaiv, Kharkiv and Lviv as well as the three German cities of Osnabrück, Leipzig and Nuremberg. All network partners bring in current projects at the city level.

bgh. supports the network building, the content design and implementation of the network meetings on behalf of Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH.

The topics of integrated urban development discussed in the cities network range from urban brownfield development through public participation procedures to climate-friendly urban development. Another component of the network is the exchange of expertise with other cities networks, such as the “South African-German Cities Network – Urban Energies” and the “US-American-German Cities Network D4C – Dialogues for Change (D4C)”.

While previous meetings of the Ukrainian-German cities network were held in Lviv, Kyiv and Leipzig, the latest workshop took place in Osnabrück, Germany in July 2019. The main topic of the workshop was “Conversion: The potential of brownfield (re)development in integrated urban development”. In order to dive deeper into the concept of integrated urban development, this workshop zoomed in on the question of how integrated urban development can be managed and organized practically and with a specific view on participation as success factor for the integrated sustainable development.

The workshop allowed the city representatives to get to know various experiences in managing conversion and identify participatory tools at different stages of the planning process. Additionally, the city representatives and network members had the opportunity to visit the site of the brownfield revitalization project Neumarkt and provide their peers from Osnabrück with collegial advice. 

Role of Peer Learning Networks for National Urban Development Policy and the foundation of the Ukrainian-German City Network: 

Commissioned by: Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH
Period: Continuous since 2017

Ukrainisch-Deutsches Städtenetzwerk [Ukraine & Deutschland]

Ende des Jahres 2017 wurde das ukrainisch-deutsche Städtenetzwerk auf Initiative des ukrainischen Ministerium für Regionalentwicklung, Bau, Wohnen und Kommunale Dienstleistungen (MinReg) und des Bundesministeriums für Umwelt, Naturschutz, Bau und Reaktorsicherheit (BMUB) gegründet. Nach neuem Ressortzuschnitt liegt das Netzwerk seit 2018 in Zuständigkeit des Bundesministeriums des Innern, für Bau und Heimat (BMI). Wichtige Partner in dem Städtenetzwerk sind neben den beiden Ministerien die vier ukrainischen Städte Kyiv, Mykolajiw, Kharkiv und Lviv sowie die drei deutschen Städte Osnabrück, Leipzig und Nürnberg. Alle Netzwerkpartner bringen aktuelle Projekte auf städtischer Ebene ein.

bgh. unterstützt im Auftrag der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH den Netzwerkaufbau und die inhaltliche Ausgestaltung sowie Durchführung der bisherigen Netzwerktreffen.

Die im Städtenetzwerk diskutierten Themen der integrierten Stadtentwicklung reichen von innerstädtischer Brachflächenentwicklung über öffentliche Partizipationsverfahren bis hin zu klimafreundlicher Stadtentwicklung. Ein weiterer Bestandteil der Netzwerkarbeit ist der fachliche Austausch mit anderen Städtenetzwerken, wie etwa dem „Südafrikanisch-Deutschen Städtenetzwerk – Urban Energies“ und dem „US-Amerikanisch-Deutschen Städtenetzwerk D4C – Dialogues for Change (D4C)“.

Vorangegangene Treffen des Ukrainisch-Deutschen Städtenetzwerks fanden in Lviv, Kyiv und Leipzig statt. Für den letzten Workshop trafen sich die Netzwerkmitglieder im Juli 2019 in Osnabrück. Der Workshops widmete sich dem Potenzial der Brachflächenentwicklung als Teil der integrierten Stadtentwicklung. Um tiefer in das Konzept der integrierten Stadtentwicklung einzusteigen, befasste sich dieser Workshop auch mit der Frage, wie integrierte Stadtentwicklung praktisch umgesetzt werden und Partizipation ein Erfolgsfaktor für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung darstellen kann.

Der Workshop ermöglichte den Vertreter der Städte, vielfältige Erfahrungen beim Umgang mit Brachflächenentwicklung kennenzulernen und dabei passende partizipative Instrumente für die verschiedenen Phasen eines Planungsprozesses zu identifizieren. Zusätzlich hatten die Netzwerkmitglieder die Möglichkeit, das Gelände des Brachflächen-Revitalisierungsprojekts Neumarkt zu besichtigen, praktische Herausforderungen eines großen Entwicklungsprojekts zu betrachten und die Fachkolleg aus Osnabrück gemeinsam kollegial zu beraten. 

Die Rolle von Peer Learning Netzwerken für die Nationale Stadtentwicklungspolitik und Gründung des Ukrainisch-Deutschen Städtenetzwerks: 

Auftraggeber: Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH
Zeitraum: Fortlaufend seit 2017